Cafe Food

Egg Harbor Cafe

This place is always so packed, especially on the weekend – you’ll have a pretty long waiting time.  So after a few late tries to have breakfast, finally got to try it during the week – still busy but didn’t have to wait.  I really wanted to find a nice breakfast place which would hopefully be close to the Melbourne cafes back in Oz, and this was as close as I’ve found so far – in fairness, I haven’t tried that many cafes here…yet.

There’s a lot of options on the menu.  I was really torn between getting something sweet like the Pancakes/French Toast or savoury, my usual Eggs Benedict.  Finally decided to go with the Farmer’s Market Benedict with a side of turkey bacon, Strawberry Orange juice, Shakshuka and Coffee.

Farmer’s Market Benedict ($10) with a side of turkey bacon ($4) – I really liked the inclusion of the artichoke to the standard spinach, mushroom and tomato, it was really good.  Can’t go wrong with poached eggs and english muffins.  But actually, the hollandaise sauce didn’t have much flavour in it, was a bit bland.  The potatoes were a great addition along with the turkey bacon – which was  overall I did like it.
Shakshuka ($10) – This was great – especially the goat cheese topping, it was perfect.
Drinks – The Strawberry Orange juice ($3.30) was yum!  It’s their signature beverage too.  I don’t drink coffee ($3), but it was really basic and not a hit.  I dunno where you can find proper coffees over here! Try coffee in NZ and Oz and you’ll know what I mean..or so I’m told, more of a hot chocolate person.

Quantity – I actually finished it! Well, most of it.  I couldn’t finish all of the turkey bacon on my own but I think I was pretty hungry too cause I almost always am not able to finish everything.
Ambience – Even though it was around 1pm when we got here, it was still full – not that we had to wait but pretty much every table was full and the place closes at 2pm.
Service – Our server was very helpful and attentive.  Really pleasant and welcoming environment and the seating was comfortable too – enough space for all the food we had ordered.
Spice – 2/5 – but this is not meant to be spicy so I guess a bit unfair to include this.  But if you like a spicy breakfast then no, this is not the place to go.
Taste – Overall yes it was good – not exactly Melbourne, but pretty close and will definitely come back again.

Overall, I did enjoy the place.  Service was good, food and ingredients were fresh and nothing flashy but good old standard breakfast – I can see why this place is so popular!  Will be back to try the French Toast and Pancakes 🙂

Farmer’s Market Benedict

 

Shakshuka

Strawberry Orange juice & coffee

Egg Harbor Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

 

Leave a Reply

