American

Big Dave’s Cheesesteaks

I was invited to try out the menu and write a blog piece on the place.  Now, this is the first time I’ve ever tried Philly Cheesesteaks before…I saw it once in a Fresh Prince episode, but we don’t have this stuff over in Oz or NZ so didn’t think I’d ever get to try it…It’s named after Derrick’s father and he’s doing a great job – it’s so great to have your own business and he clearly has a passion for what he’s doing.

So firstly, location – it took us a while to find the place so heads up it’s next to the Shell gas station.  I asked Derrick what his recommendation was and he suggested the “Dave’s Way” cheesesteak – it includes three types of cheese, onions, 2 types of peppers and mushrooms and I had it with steak, you can also choose from chicken, fried chicken or veggie.  I had a side of fries and sweet tea.  Ok so the cheesesteak is MASSIVE!!! There’s no way on earth I could finish it by myself, so yea, you can definitely get lunch and dinner out of it.

So here’s the breakdown…
Quantity – as I mentioned before – the cheesesteak is huge!! even if you share it, still wouldn’t be able to finish it.
Ambience – it’s a quiet place with few tables available but there’s always a steady flow of people coming through – this place is popular! We came here around 1pm and even though it was after lunch there was still a lot of traffic coming through for both takeaway and dining in.
Service – It was amazing! Everyone is so lovely and they keep checking up on you to make sure you have everything you need – it was great.
Spice – ok so I went on the recommendation and I didn’t say I wanted it spicy or anything like that so with the “Dave’s way” cheesesteak, it’s not spicy – it’s cheesy…So it’s a 1/5 here.  But you do have the option to make it yourself, so next time I will let them know extra jalapenos and hot peppers!
Taste – The chips were soooo good!! It’s a homemade seasoning that’s added and it’s got the right amount of crispiness – I’m really a fries type of girl and this was tasty az!!  With the cheesesteak – I’m not really into cheese but the steak was soo good.  The meat was cooked perfectly and had the right cut.  Next time for sure, I will order less cheese and more peppers – you can pick from jalapenos, hot peppers and banana peppers so it’s definitely your choice and you can make it your way.

The service is great, everyone is warm and hospitable – they just want to make sure you have a great experience and quality food.  I will definitely be back to try the wings and water ice! Thanks so much to Derrick and his team for making it a great experience and the opportunity to try my first cheesesteak!!

Sweet tea

Seasoned Fries

Dave’s Way Cheesesteak


Big Dave's Cheesesteaks Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

 

Leave a Reply

